top of page

Best of 2015- Cats


I was a cat fiend way before the domestic feline became the absolute ruler of the internet. I don’t know how it came to pass, but I just never liked dogs, albeit the first pet I recall was actually our mongrel Vuk (a dog named after a fox called wolf, what can I say), who was ridiculously afraid of thunder and lightning. The scent of his wet fur as he lay shuddering under my chair is still one of the definitive smells of my childhood- but that was Vuk, and he was followed by no other dog in my graces.


Next in line is a cat, Gombóc Artúr (Ignáciusz Bonifác, because he was, as all better cats, an aristocrat and needed an army of names), who got his moniker after a bird who likes all sorts of chocolate, whereas Artúr the cat loved all sorts of meat. But mostly, he was a great philosopher, one of those souls always at rest, always perfectly attuned to the universe. He was then followed by small cats, large cats, lazy cats, sloppy cats, angry cats, despondent cats, loner cats, vagabond cats, deranged cats- a long line of majestic creatures leading to the minute tyrant of today.


This present ruler of the realm is slightly disgustedly eyeing me as I write this, because oh so obviously, I would be so much better off if I paid her considerably more attention than I do. All my attention, if possible, since according to my father she is a super evil scheming bastard condensed in a tiny ball of black and white fur.


She might be particularly cross that this post is not all about her, as it should be, but contains a random assortment of felines of whom she violently disapproves. Or would do so, if she were awake, but she just decided to give up on her grand plan to take over the world, and went back to sleep. Cats are fickle like that.




bottom of page